البيئة

نحن في شركة "طاقة" ندرك مدى تأثير عملياتنا على البيئة ونسعى لتطوير حلول مستدامة مبتكرة.

تلتزم شركة "طاقة" بتزويد المجتمعات باحتياجاتها من الطاقة اللازمة للتطور والنمو، لكنها تحرص على القيام بذلك بطريقة مسؤولة تركز من خلالها على تقليص الأثر البيئي لعملياتها إلى أدنى مستوىً ممكن.

المنهج والاستراتيجية

تسعى شركة "طاقة" للعب دور رئيسي في تلبية القفزة الكبيرة في الطلب العالمي على الكهرباء الذي يتوقع أن يرتفع بنسبة 55% خلال الثلاثين سنة القادمة. وفي إطار هذه المساعي، من المؤكد أن الشركة لن تستطيع الاستغناء عن الوقود الأحفوري، لكنها بالمقابل تعمل على بذل كل ما في وسعها للاستثمار في تقنيات جديدة أكثر كفاءة لإيجاد أفضل الحلول الممكنة لجعل هذا الوقود أنظف وأكثر ملاءمة للبيئة.

فنحن نطمح دوماً لتحسين عملياتنا عن طريق تقليص استهلاك الطاقة وإدارة مواردنا بعناية وحكمة، لأننا ندرك أن هذا هو المفتاح الحقيقي للتنمية المستدامة. كما نجتهد لتنويع مزيج الطاقة من خلال الاستثمار في تقنيات الطاقة المتجددة واستكشاف حلول أخرى بديلة حرصاً منا على خفض الأثر البيئي الناجم عن الوقود الأحفوري.

وتركز الفرق المعنية بالبيئة والسلامة في جميع فروع الشركة على الحفاظ على سمعة الشركة وإدارة المخاطر الرئيسية بشكل فعال، بما في ذلك دمج الأصول، وحماية البيئة، والحيلولة دون وقوع الحوادث، وضمان سلامة الموظفين والأصول والمجتمعات المحيطة.

النظم والعمليات

تعكس استراتيجية "طاقة" البيئية مكانة الشركة العالمية وتتضمن تطوير البرامج والمبادرات ومعايير الإدارة والإجراءات البيئية. ويتولى فريق متخصص مسؤولية الإدارة البيئية لمرافق الشركة في جميع البلدان التي تنتشر فيها عملياتها، وتقوم هذه الفرق بمراقبة الانبعاثات والحصول على التراخيص اللازمة من السلطات المعنية.

وسعياً منها لتحسين مستوى إدارتها للبصمة البيئية، قامت "طاقة" بتطوير معايير لتقييم الأثر البيئي بهدف تطبيقها في جميع عملياتها في أنحاء العالم، بالإضافة إلى تطبيق مؤشرات أداء رئيسية عالمية المستوى لتقييم الجوانب والمبادرات المتعلقة بالانبعاثات وإدارة النفايات وحالات التسرب المسجلة.

وبحلول نهاية العام 2013، نالت خمسٌ من منشآتنا الست العاملة شهادة آيزو 14001 وفق المعايير الدولية لأنظمة الإدارة البيئية، وكانت آخرها محطة كهرباء تاكورادي في غانا. كما انتهى العمل على الإجراءات المتعلقة بحصول المقر الرئيسي للشركة في أبوظبي على اعتماد الآيزو.

الأداء

انخفض عدد البقع النفطية المسجلة عبر جميع عملياتنا للعام الثاني على التوالي، حيث تم رصد 50 حالة، مقارنة بـ 51 في العام 2012 و74 في العام الذي سبقه. ويعد هذا إنجازاً مهماً نظراً لأن هذه الأرقام تشمل أصولاً جديدة في إقليم كردستان العراق ومنصة هاردينغ في المملكة المتحدة، إضافة إلى أن أعلى نسبة من البقع النفطية المسجلة كانت خفيفة يمكن تصنيفها ضمن فئتي البقع التي تقل عن 100 ليتر أو التي تتراوح بين 100 و1000 ليتر.

حالات التسرب النفطي*

عالمياً

حالات التسرب المسجلة* 2010 2011 2012 2013
النفط والغاز 53 69 49 48
إنتاج الماء والكهرباء 3 5 2 2

*تشمل ثلاثة مشاريع رئيسية قيد الإنشاء والعمليات الجديدة في العراق.

Environment

TAQA is committed to understanding our impact and developing creative, sustainable solutions.

The energy industry can have a profound impact on the environment. At TAQA, we see it as our responsibility to provide the energy that communities need to develop and grow. But we must balance this with managing our own environmental footprint.

Our approach and strategy

TAQA is destined to play a major role in how the world meets the predicted 55% jump in demand for electricity between 2010 and 2040. Burning fossil fuels will be part of how we do it. That is why we are committed to finding new ways to make fossil fuels cleaner, and why we are committed to investing in new technologies and becoming more efficient in the process.

At TAQA, we are aiming to improve our operations by reducing energy use and carefully managing our resources. This, we believe, is a key aspect of sustainable development. But while we are seeking to reduce the environmental impact of fossil fuels, we are also aiming to diversify our energy mix. We are doing this by investing in renewable energy technology and exploring other alternative solutions.

TAQA’s Global Environment team focuses on managing key risks including asset integrity and environmental protection. Particular attention is paid to incident prevention to ensure no harm to our own people, assets and reputation; the public and the environment.

Systems and processes

Taking into consideration stakeholders, compliance and stewardship, the global Environmental strategy involves developing TAQA’s global programmes and initiatives, procedures and management standards. Individual business units operations remain responsible for environmental management of their facilities in their own countries for purposes such as environmental permitting and local emissions monitoring.

However, to improve the management of our own environmental footprint TAQA has developed an Environmental Impact Assessment (EIA) standard to be applied throughout all business units. This is complemented by new global-level key performance indicators (KPIs) with the objective of performance initiatives for air emissions, waste management and reportable spills.

By year-end 2013, five of our six main operated facilities were certified to the international standard for Environmental Management Systems, ISO 14001. Furthermore, the ISO certification process has been completed for the headquarters in Abu Dhabi.

Performance

Across our global operations reportable spills were reduced for the second year in a row to 50, compared with 51 in 2013, and 74 the previous year. This is a more significant achievement given the inclusion of the new business in the Kurdistan region of Iraq, and the addition of a new asset – the Harding platform – to our UK portfolio during the year. Additionally, low severity spills of less than 100 litres or 100-1000 litres categories make up the highest proportion of the releases.

In 2013, in the Oil & Gas business stream the North American operations made the most notable improvement recording a 43% reduction on the previous year. By focusing on collaboration with contractors and better identification of prevention measures TAQA is aiming to further improve on these positive trends.

Reportable spills* Global

Reportable spills Global for 2013:50; for 2012:51;for 2011:74 and for 2010:56; Reportable spills Global for Oil & Gas for 2013:48; for 2012:49; for 2011:69; for 2010 53;Reportable spills Global for Power & Water for 2013:2;for 2012:2;for 2011:5; for 2010:3

*Includes three ongoing major construction projects and new operations in Iraq.